Road to Indy TV

Lindh grabs his fifth pole of the season, edges one point closer to Kirkwood


The 15 Indy Pro 2000 cars took to the 2.258-mile, 11-turn road course immediately following the third NTT IndyCar Series session, guaranteeing that the track would have plenty of grip.

That proved to be accurate when championship contender Rasmus Lindh grabbed the pole bonus point and a new track record with a late flyer. The Swede’s lap timed at 79.899 seconds broke an 11-year-old track record by Richard Kent, who was driving for Andersen Racing.

It is Lindh’s fifth pole of the season and 8th of Road To Indy career.

Kirkwood, who saw his 20-point lead shrink to 19-points, will start on the outside of the front row.

Race #1 pole sitter Sting Ray Robb will start behind his Juncos Racing teammate on the second row alongside Exclusive Autosport rookie Danial Frost.

The entire session ran green, and with five minutes remaining, the top five were Robb, Kirkwood, Lindh, Frost, and Petrov.

Lindh and Kirkwood were both able to surpass Robb in the last quarter of the session, and DEForce Racing’s Kory Enders was able to knock Petrov out of the top five.